#### CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE COUNCIL

At a meeting of the **LICENSING COMMITTEE** held at Council Chamber, Priory House, Monks Walk, Shefford on Thursday, 18 June 2009

#### **PRESENT**

Cllr L Birt (Chairman)
Cllr T Green (Vice-Chairman)

Cllrs D Bowater Cllrs H J Lockey
I Dalgarno A A J Rogers
M Gibson G Summerfield
K Janes P F Vickers

Apologies for Absence: Cllrs J Nunn

J A G Saunders

Officers in Attendance: Mrs M Clampitt – Democratic Services Officer

Mrs K John – Democratic Services Manager,

MBDC

Mr R Mills – Committee Services Manager Mrs B Morris – Assistant Director Legal &

Democratic Services and

Monitoring Officer

## L/09/1 Membership of the Licensing Sub-Committee

The Committee received and considered a schedule submitted by the Assistant Director Legal & Democratic Services outlining the recommendations of the Group Leaders in relation to the appointment of Members of the Licensing Sub Committee.

Members asked for clarification of why only one sub committee had been arranged and what the process would be to further increase the number of sub committees. The Democratic Services Manager informed the Committee that historically there had been 3 or 4 sub committees, which had been introduced at the inception of the Liquor Licensing Regime in 2005. The Central Bedfordshire Constitution however allowed for only one Committee with all members of the Licensing Committee being named as substitutes. If the Committee wished for this to be reviewed they would have to add the item to the next full meeting of the Licensing Committee asking that they request the Constitution Working Group to amend the Constitution to allow for more sub committees to be established. The Committee unanimously voted for this to be done.

### **RESOLVED**

- 1. that Members of the Licensing Sub Committee be appointed as indicated on the schedule attached as Appendix A to these Minutes.
- 2. that the number of Licensing Sub Committees be added to the agenda for the next Licensing Committee to allow further discussion.

(Note: The meeting commenced at 7.50 p.m. and concluded at 7.55 p.m..)

# LICENSING COMMITTEE

# 18 June 2009

# MEMBERSHIP OF THE LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE

Licensing Sub-Committee	Cllr D Bowater
(3 members appointed by Licensing	Cllr T Green
Committee)	Cllr G Summerfield
,	
Substitutes	
Any member of the Licensing Committee	

Note: Chairman of the Sub-Committee to be appointed at each meeting.

